Posted by: Robin Koontz | December 17, 2011

First Color Almost Final

Even though I’m coming down with the crud, I got a little bit of work done today. It’s fun to use the collage without all that cutting and glueing! The painting was my favorite part anyway. I read that Eric Carle will spend days just painting paper. Drawers are marked red, blue, green, etc. But hey, this way, I can use them again!

I’m using Illustrator and Photoshop. I scanned the paintings and used them as patterns in Illustrator. The fuzzy cheeks were airbrushed in Photoshop on transparent background and placed. I’m still a bright flat-color kind of girl, but the “real” paint adds some interesting texture I think. Maybe when the fever passes I’ll change my mind.

UPDATE: As much fun as it was to try something new, my art director preferred less texture, so here is the final we’re all happy with:


Responses

  1. Ooh, yes. That texture is fun. I had to click the picture to enlarge it to get the full effect. I’d love to learn more about Photoshop, but I just don’t have the time. And I get frustrated because you can’t do things the same way in Photoshop as you can in Ilustrator, which I know a little better. That’s one thing you can say for Microsoft. At least they keep the commands consistent between programs.

    • But I am working in Illustrator. I wrote (probably badly) that I use Photoshop just to prepare the scanned paintings. Place the painting in Illustrator, define pattern, and use it to fill. Also had to create the rosy cheeks since I can’t figure out Illustrator’s air brush.


Leave a Reply

Categories

