Posted by: Robin Koontz | December 21, 2011

A bamboo forest, sort of

I wrote a spoof for Rourke Publishing that involves a beaver, a boy, and a lot of bamboo. I’m tentatively hired to illustrate it and this is the cover so far. We have two bamboo islands on the Funny Farm that I wish were this lush! Anyway, still futzing…

I’m not using patterns in this one, but did learn that the easiest way to drop a pattern into a shape is to create a clipping mask. I used to know that, but forgot! Now that I remember, I’m having great fun with the next cover design, so stay tuned!


Responses

  1. The picture of the boy and the beaver is in a bamboo forest, and I finally understand what you mean by “You’re not done yet.” I was taking it personally instead of seeing that it’s your experience and often mine too as a writer and even as a teacher although I’m retired from teaching classes now, just grandchildren.

  2. That’s my main problem with Photoshop. I don’t use it often enough to remember all the tricks. It’s not so bad with Illustrator because I had more experience with that back when my brain actually worked in a decent fashion.🙂 I wish I had time to really play around in both programs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

