Posted by: Robin Koontz | January 23, 2012

New kids are not on the block!

When I was hired to illustrate the four early readers that I wrote for Rourke last fall, I was surprised and delighted! But I was a little concerned. My editor made it clear that all but one story must feature people. I figured based on what I was hired to illustrate last year, someone who was really good at rendering kids in particular would get the job for three of the books, while I was hoping to illustrate book #4, which features furry critters, my specialty!

So this was scary, but a terrific opportunity. I wanted to add more kid illustrations to my portfolio – the ones posted are so old they’d have kids of their own by now. Here’s a typical example:

You can view more samples from this twenty-year old title here: I See Something You Don’t See! which by the way, is a book I’m selling on uTales! These kids worked well for that book. But I wanted to try something new for my digital illustrations.

Here are the new kids:

I was delighted again when I turned in the finals on the first book today and was told they looked great, and they love the kids! Yay! I am already working on the next book, which does have a prominent animal character. If you actually read my posts, you’ll know who that is. And hey, there is a very special kid who saves the day. I’m looking forward to bringing him to life.


Responses

  1. So cute. In the end doesn’t it seem we know each character, their personality, their likes, their dislikes, what they think? What makes that unusal is trying to explain that to someone who doesn’t write and illustrate.

    Congratulations!!

    • Sorry that word is “UNUSUAL”😉

  2. Those kids look great!! Super job, Robin.😀

  3. “In a time of drastic change it is the learners who inherit the future. The learned usually find themselves equipped to live in a world that no longer exists.” (Eric Hoffer) Way to be forever young and growing, Robin !

  4. I like the new kids very much! Imaginative you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

