Posted by: Robin Koontz | May 23, 2012

Never Let the Meanies Bite Your Head Off! (with thanks to Jim Infantino)

I am at the end of my 23 year long career as a volunteer for the SCBWI Oregon (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, Oregon Region). I resigned as the Regional Advisor after taking on that huge job in 1994, and have also decided to bow out of all the rest of it for now.

We hosted an amazing conference this past weekend, with record-breaking attendance! The event was both joyful and sad at the same time. While it was wonderful to meet and greet old and new friends and accept many thanks for my work both for this event and for many previous efforts over the years, I had some panic issues during the weekend that stemmed from some of the stuff that proceeded the conference and that deeply affected me. I won’t go into detail here. The good news is that I’ve been working on a picture book idea for about six months, and on the way home on Sunday, I finally got it figured out!


A meanie considering something said to it by some very smart and brave kids.

I shared the story with my critique partners. They loved it, possibly more because they understand my need to write it. No matter, it’s done for now. It is about bullies, aka meanies – a devastating, apparently escalating issue for kids. I am so grateful that more attention is being given to bullying, because face it, even adults have to deal with bullies sometimes. I just didn’t realize that until recently.


Responses

  1. Love the drawing. xox.

  2. Yeah, you took some very insensitive crap, Robin, that you did not deserve. So it goes sometimes. I’m sorry it had to happen to you.

  3. Way to go Robin — facing your challenges and turning them into something positive! I look forward to hearing about your many adventures and successes coming soon.

  4. Will miss you–but now your creativity can burst out in other ways. Bon Voyage!


Leave a Reply

Categories

