Posted by: Robin Koontz | May 29, 2012

Choosing Our Path

We cleaned out our little attic last night and went through lots of boxes. We found my 1986 inventory of greeting cards and gift tags that I retired a few years ago. There were house plans that Marvin created, and a 100-year old journal written by my great aunt (more about that later). I also found a box of Mom Stuff. Moms are cool about saving stuff, aren’t they?

This is a two-page spread from an early book I created, probably circa 1960, when I was six years old.

The theme is constant throughout the 10-page book: a figure is faced with a maze to get to what I believe is the ice cream truck. It’s either that or an ambulance…but my six-year-old brain says “whassa ambulance?” so I’ll go with ice cream truck. The background colors are apparently significant. The first maze has no background, then colors appear on the subsequent pages, becoming more and more complicated.

Obviously I had an early knack for creating tension and build-up, you think? Plus, look at this artwork. What talent! I still remember when a kid said to me in 1st grade, “The only reason you draw so good is you got more crayons than anyone else.”

So my path, while a little confusing here, was decided early: find the ice cream truck.


Responses

  1. Awesome, Ms Robin!! I see you actually wrote the words to narrate. I love the orange and green picture. I thought it was an orange tree, but were so precocious that left the guess work out. SMART!!😀

  2. Oh, this is so much fun! I guess you took the right path in life….either that or you never really had a chance to do anything else. It was DESTINY!

  3. I love this.🙂 I was writing stories very early too–I still have the first novel I tried to write. I think it was third or fourth grade. (I also did embroidery when I was 4, but clearly that was not to be!) Thanks for sharing.🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

