Posted by: Robin Koontz | September 2, 2012

Ode to a Hornet (with apologies to all poets everywhere)

Dear yellow jacket, I meant no strife!
I want us to enjoy our earthly space
You tend your nest and live your life
We all cherish our special place.

Your cousin, wasp, wisps gently by
Says, “Excuse me, am I in your way?”
It’s cool to hang with peaceful guys
They just happily go about their day.

But not you, fierce and grumpy beast
(soon to die, your queen now sleeping)
You tagged ME, a threat not in the least!
Feigning yourself a soldier worth keeping.

Laugh all you want at my swollen paw
Boast to your friends, you pompous s*it
Because while my left is itchy and raw
I’m right-handed, and now, you’re it.


Responses

  1. Owwwww!!! I hope you are doing better. That looks a bit alarming. Benedryl ASAP when you get a sting, ice and have an epi pen handy.😉

  2. How many hornets can say they’ve had a poem written about them?😛

  3. Cute poem och on the hand!


Leave a Reply

Categories

