Posted by: Robin Koontz | May 24, 2013

Bad Poetry? Oh, noetry!

Print

I was researching a new nonfiction book idea and recalling one of my favorite editors telling me that my nonfiction writing is too “textbooky” for her. Yeah, that’s a word. And selling a book to that editor is on my bucket list. I have been getting kind rejections from her for about twenty years. Seriously. They even send me a card at Christmas. We’re meant to be.

So I browsed their latest catalog (which they also send me) and noticed that most of their nonfiction books for younger readers are written in verse, often in the humorous vein. Then they just put all the textbooky stuff at the end, if at all.

I said okay, I can do that. And while I’m at it, why not illustrate the verses, too? The one I’ve posted here is not my favorite verse, but I don’t want to give away too much. You know, in case that editor buys the project! A girl can always hope. That’s what keeps us going.


Responses

  1. This. Is very good I love it.

  2. Thanks, DK! I appreciate your comment. Love your photos too!!

  3. Totally cool.🙂

    • Thanks Lisa! Nice of you to carve out a moment to stop by during your crazy season!

  4. Wonderful Robin. The illustration and the text!

    • Hello Robin: I love the illustration. Child’s mind will be encourage to discover the bug. maybe adding more background will sell better. Or better yet, add an activity for the children to create their own bug before continuing with the story. This way the adult presenting the story can give some scientific facts…


Leave a Reply

Categories

