Posted by: Robin Koontz | September 5, 2013

Color sketching for collage

Here’s another illustration for What Do They Dream?, a picture book I’m working on that isn’t sold, but I have hope, as always. This time, instead of just a line drawing and painting, I blocked in colors to get a feel for what worked. I admire artists who can visualize all this and just dig in. They have more confidence than I have.

Print

Once the colors were worked out, I painted lots of paper bits, scanned them, then dropped into the various color shapes. The shadow under the cow wasn’t working, so I just left it out to revisit later. Always good to step away when it ain’t working.

Print
I’m at work on the next spread, which involves wings and dancing. Go figure.


Leave a Reply

Categories

